Freelance Writers: Rebranding Doesn’t Have to be Painful

Freelance writers are no different than companies when it comes to branding. We have to creative a website, a web presence, and logo; stay on top of social media, communicate effectively with clients, etc. The owners or board of a company will rebrand because it could be time to go in another direction. Other times, a company will re-brand if it’s suffered a publicity scandal. Ouch! In any event, I’m no different than a company and have decided it’s time to rebrand me along with my portfolio site Savvy-Writer.com. Change is good, and I anticipate only good to come from my decision. With that said … my new, balanced name is Amandah Tayler Blackwell (Amandah Blackwell); it has a nice ‘ring’ to it. For business purposes, I’ll use Amandah T. Blackwell as my signature.

I was surprised at how common it is for solo professionals to change their name. Let’s face it; most actors and actress change their name or use a stage name instead of their legal name. All of us know that Norma Jean became Marilyn Monroe. Marion Morrison is best known as John Wayne. I can’t imagine the movie poster for True Grit with the words, “True Grit starring Marion Morrison as Rooster Cogburn.” I don’t think so.

What’s this: Did you know that some freelance writers and authors use ‘pen names‘ instead of their ‘real’ names? Some of the best-selling authors don’t use their legal names and or publish under different pen names. Some authors have five or more pen names. That’s too many for me!

You may be wondering how I came up with Amandah Tayler Blackwell. Well … I contacted a company in Vancouver, B.C. that specializes in business and personal name changes. It’s not a decision I made lightly. In fact, I’ve been contemplating changing my name for quite some time. Family and friends may need more time to adjust to the change, but I believe it’s in my best interest and look forward to the new ‘energy’ around my ‘new’ name.

How to rebrand your company

1. Life is constantly changing, nothing is stagnant. Embrace change, and it will embrace you.

2. Re-branding can breathe new life into a business and or take it in a totally new direction.

3. What is your mission? Why are you in business? Knowing the answers to these questions can help you embrace rebranding your company.

4. Talk to your clients/customers. There’s a reason why companies conduct focus groups — they want to know what they’re customers want and or how to improve upon products and services. You may as well go straight to the ‘source’ and ask, “What can we do for you?”

5. Ask for help. If you’re in a ‘niche’ that’s saturated, partnering with other businesses is a great way to expand your market.

6. Rethink your target market. Can you expand your target market without having to introduce new products and services?

7. Consider renaming your company. Did you know that Pepsi was first known in 1898 as Brad’s Drink? The name was changed to Pepsi-Cola in 1903 and later to what we now recognize as Pepsi. Talk about an evolution! Pepsi is well-known throughout the world, with many satisfied customers.

8. Communication is the key. It’s important to show and tell clients and customers ‘why’ you’re rebranding and how it will benefit them. Create a video, infographic, etc. Change doesn’t have to be hard — it can be exciting and take you places you could have only imagined.

Thanks for tagging along on my journey. I appreciate everyone who reads and likes Savvy Writing Careers!

Best,
Amandah T. Blackwell

Related articles

2 thoughts on “Freelance Writers: Rebranding Doesn’t Have to be Painful

  1. Pingback: What Advice Do You Wish You Received before Becoming a Freelance Writer? | Savvy Writing Careers

  2. Pingback: Savvy Writing Careers Has Moved to Better Serve Creative, Freelance and Ghost Writers | Savvy Writing Careers

Leave a Reply

