What 5 Topics Are Writers Afraid to Write About?

Sometimes, writers have ‘fear’ about writing on certain topics. They either fear backlash from family and friends or backlash from strangers on the internet. Unfortunately, you can’t control the actions and reactions of others — you only have control over your thoughts, beliefs, actions, reactions and feelings. If there’s a ‘hot topic‘ you’ve been dying to explore, why not go for it? Everyone is entitled to their thoughts, beliefs and opinions. Express yours in a diplomatic, matter-of-fact way and you may be surprised to discover that readers agree with your point-of-view.

Here are five topics I was afraid to write about:

1. Parenting: When you don’t have kids. I used to fear (I have teen life coaching site but haven’t wrote in a while) this one but now that I’ve become a ‘surrogate mom’ to my nephew and niece, I’m not holding back. I have a lot to say on parenting and becoming a parent in the 21st century. I’m sure there will be a percentage of people out of the 7 Billion people on earth that would agree with what I have to say.

2. Marriage. I have a lot to say on marriage and relationships in general. For example, if you have a sinking feeling in the pit of your stomach before you’re about to walk down the aisle, that’s a RED FLAG you’re about to make a BIG mistake for which you, your children and society will pay dearly for. It’s better to turn to your father and say, “I’m sorry you spent all of this money, but I can’t go through with it.” It’s better to listen to your father ‘rant and rave’ about how much money he just lost instead of being stuck in a dead-end, life-sucking marriage.

3. Politics. Like most people, I have strong thoughts, beliefs and opinions on politics, especially in the U.S. I’ve been afraid to express my view in opinions pieces but not anymore. I may ruffle a few feathers because I’ll challenge people to ‘think’ for themselves instead of being co-dependent on the media, government, other people, etc.

4. Family. What is a family? Most people hear the word ‘family’ and think of the ‘old school’ version which includes a mom, dad and kids. However, the definition of family differs from person to person. And, some adult children (some have children) are moving back with their parents. The family dynamic has changed in the 21st century.

5. Self-help advice. You’re probably groaning about this one because there are many self-help experts or gurus in the ‘self-help’ section of a bookstore. I’ve dabbled in this area, but I haven’t pushed the envelope as much as I would like to. Why? I’m different because I tell it how it is. I believe in ‘tough love’ and won’t sugarcoat anything. Most people don’t want to hear they’ve created their own problems. It takes a ‘big’ person to admit their mistakes and wrongdoings. It’s not easy but it can be done.

Rebecca

What 5 topics are you afraid to write about? Share.

Leave a Reply

